Walking Through Clay

More Albums by Dirk Powell

Track Listing

1. Rollin’ Round This Town   4:41
2. Walking Through Clay  3:54
3. Some Sweet Day  4:53
4. Abide With Me  4:21
5. Spoonbread  4:23
6. As I Went Out A’Walkin' 3:34
7. Goodbye Girls  4:43
8. Break the Chains  4:41
9. That Ain't Right 4:32
10. Sweet Goes the Whistle 4:47
11. Golden Chain  5:26
12. My Heart Won't Let Me Stay  2:47


Considered one of the finest Americana musicians performing today, with a musical voice grown directly from roots in Appalachian and Louisiana soil, Dirk Powell is set to release his fourth solo album and Sugar Hill Records debut, Walking Through Clay, on February 4, 2014. The album finds Powell, whom Steve Earle calls “the greatest old-time banjo player alive,” uniting the hard-hitting drums of guests like Levon Helm with homegrown electric guitars, fiddles, amplified fretless banjos and Creole accordions. Barriers between styles are cooked off and what remains is a fearlessly emotional portrait of rural American music presented as only Powell could. Throughout the 12 tracks on Walking Through Clay, the longtime Lafayette, LA resident speaks many musical languages with amazing fluency, bringing in guests like Jerry Douglas, Aoife O’Donovan, and Mike McGoldrick to help with the task.