The Place I Left Behind

More Albums by The Deep Dark Woods

Track Listing

1. West Side Street
2. The Place I Left Behind
3. Mary's Gone
4. Virginia
5. Sugar Mama
6. The Banks of the Leopold Canal
7. Big City Lights
8. Back Alley BLues
9. I Just Can't Lose
10. Never Prove False
11. Dear John
12. The Ballad of Frank Dupree
13. Oh, What a Life


The Deep Dark Woods wake the ghosts of Appalachia with their prairie gothic pyre-side tales. On their new record, The Place I Left Behind, the band finds continuity in themes of temporal and geographic alienation, neglected inward trails, and the scars of abandoned intimacies.

A rainstorm over the desert of modern music, The Place I Left Behind offers murder ballads alongside scrappy rockers, lovesick hymnals and slow-dance waltzes. The album illuminates folk traditions without stripping the shadows of roots music history. The Place I Left Behind echoes with traces of time and space that are never fully abandoned or forgotten.

This album was released on October 18, 2011.

Buy it on iTunes or AmazonMP3

Purchase a CD from the band