Home Sweet Home

More Albums by Doc Watson

Track Listing

1. John Henry
2. Girl In The Blue Velvet Band
3. Lonesome Banjo
4. Listening To The Rain
5. Russian Grass
6. Worried Blues
7. Train That Carried My Girl From Town
8. Old Joe Clark
9. Down The Road
10. Big Spike Hammer
11. Reuben's Train
12. Little Maggie
13. I Wonder How The Old Folks Are At Home
14. Home Sweet Home


HOME SWEET HOME was nominated for a 1999 Grammy for Best Bluegrass Album.

"Reuben's Train" was nominated for a 1999 Grammy for Best Country Instrumental Performance.

A father/son team treatment of traditional roots bluegrass (as the liner notes have it, young Merle made this recording five months after he received and learned to play his first banjo), these source tracks were originally recorded in 1967. Exhumed after over thirty years and remixed with additional musicians (bass, fiddle, mandolin and harmony vocals), HOME SWEET HOME sounds crisp, flawless and unified-- as though it were recorded by a group that had been playing together for years.

The duo gives folk standards like "John Henry," "Worried Blues," and "Little Maggie" spirited, true-blue workouts with plenty of fine picking-- particularly from neophyte Merle, who kicks up heels in his own instrumental composition "Russian Grass." The contemporary musicians turn in fine performances as well, and the engineers of this project have done an outstanding job honoring the pure, homespun aesthetic of the source tapes. There is something irresistible about the appeal of bluegrass, and the treated recordings of Doc and Merle make HOME SWEET HOME sound at once fresh and authentic.

Personnel: Doc Watson (vocals, guitar); Alan O'Bryant (vocals); Merle Watson (banjo); Sam Bush (mandolin, fiddle); Marty Stuart (mandolin).